Canadian Committee for World Press Freedom | Press Freedom Award
page-template-default,page,page-id-24,ajax_fade,page_not_loaded,,qode-title-hidden,qode-child-theme-ver-1.0.0,qode-theme-ver-9.1.2,wpb-js-composer js-comp-ver-4.9.2,vc_responsive

At the World Press Freedom Day luncheon in Ottawa, an annual event since 1998, awards are presented to Canadian media workers who have made significant contributions to the cause. The winner, picked by a prestigious jury of current and former journalists, receives a $1,000 prize.

Past winners:

2017: Patrick Lagacé, La Presse, and Paul Dornstauder, Geoff Leo, CBC Saskatchewan

2017 Hon. Mention: Paula Simons, Edmonton Journal

2016: Ben Makuch, VICE News

2016 Hon. Mention: Josée Dupuis, Emmanuel Marchand, Radio-Canada; Linda Gyulai, Montreal Gazette

2015: Mohamed Fahmy, Al Jazeera English

2014: Katherine Gannon, Associated Press

2013: Stephen Maher and Glen McGregor, Postmedia

2012: Canadian Science Writers’ Association

2011: Citizen Lab, Toronto

2010: Michelle Lang, Calgary Herald (posthumously)

2009: Daniel Leblanc, Globe and Mail

2008: Gilles Toupin and Joël-Denis Bellavance, La Presse

2007: Tarek Fatah (author and columnist)

2006: Dr. John Hoey and Anne Marie Todkill, Canadian Medical Association Journal

2005: Juliet O’Neill, Ottawa Citizen

2004: Andrew McIntosh, National Post

2003: International Freedom of Information Exchange (IFEX)

2002: Haroon Siddiqui, Toronto Star

2001: Corinna Shuller, National Post

2000: Robert Tripp, Kingston Whig-Standard

1999: Kim Bolan, Vancouver Sun